In Illinois, misdemeanor charges are less serious than felony charges, but they can still have devastating consequences. Illinois classifies misdemeanor crimes into three separate offense levels: Class A, Class B, and Class C. The class of offense you are charged with will determine at least some of the possible penalties you could face if you are convicted. In generally, misdemeanor offenses are punishable as follows:
up to one year in the county jail and up to $2,500 in fines. Some examples of Class A misdemeanors are DUI (link to DUI page), aggravated assault, battery, domestic battery, endangering the life or health of a child, theft under $500, retail theft under $300, criminal trespass to land, criminal trespass to residence, criminal damage to property, driving on a suspended or revoked license and reckless driving.
up to six months in jail and up to $1,500 in fines. Some examples of Class B misdemeanors are possession of 10-30 grams of cannabis, telephone harassment, dumping garbage onto someone else's property. Littering, criminal trespass to land, and altering/defacing a serial number on machinery.
up to 30 days in jail and $1,500 in fines. Some examples of Class C misdemeanors are disorderly conduct and illegal gun storage.
While the accused are supposed to be treated as innocent until proven guilty, being accused of a crime can feel like an uphill battle for the accused. That is why it is important to retain an experienced criminal defense attorney to assure the best possible outcome in your case. Attorney Cassandra R. Hirth will zealously advocate for you to ensure the best possible outcome in your case. Call or text her office today for a free, no obligation, consultation at (815) 315-1933.